Rise and Shine

Rise and Shine

By David Smith March 1, 2010

(Inspired by poster at Dad’s Dinner Niagara Falls)

“Rise and Shine,” thought of my dad;

Home from work from the nights that he had;

“Rise and Shine,” to get us up for school;

Love of parents, security as a rule;

Now they are gone, with grandchildren of my own;

A security blanket for them, what my parents have shown;

That is my experiences as I pass on to the next;

New generations, past memories that mesh,

“Rise and shine,” I thought of my dad

My childhood experiences, the joy that I had.

Leave a Reply

