Childhood Memories

Childhood Memories

By David June 13, 2005

The summers were hot in my original home town

Being a youngster I would prance up and down

Seeing the aged outside a hotel

Talk to them intensely, the stories they tell

Envied them dearly, their perspective on life

They lived a fullness and lived through the strife

And passed on tidbits of info to me

All’s left is the memory though out eternity

Security blanket they gave me

The experiences they live

And being a youngster undivided attention I give

Reflecting on my grandchildren

The hope it is there

Each generation is hard to compare

All of us grown and process info so grand

And pass on our experiences

To the next generation at hand

That’s what I got from my memories of the past

The value in others let their history last

Leave a Reply

