The Late Show…The Mourning After

The Late Show…The Mourning After

By David Smith August 26, 2011

(Inspired by State Funeral Service and CBC Radio Broadcasts throughout the day)

The Late Show, with a twist …I heard today;

A corps laid out to rest, and on formal display.

It is not what is in the box that’s of value to share;

It’s the memory of the loved one, the influence to compare.

How the Late Show affected my life.

And how I felt when the show passed into the night.

O the Late Show; was the viewing grand?

Was the celebration of life simple, and easy to understand?

The trials and difficulties; the life lived through

Could those experiences give my life special meaning too?

And the Late Show; could I shed a tear?

Develop courage; or have the unbearable loss to fear?

A life that passes; as we understand

How the Late Show affected me; Can I take a stand?

The Late Show, with a twist…I heard today;

How would I react when my loved one is on display?

Leave a Reply

