Generations of Emotion

Generations of emotion

by David Smith October 3, 2016

3 Generations

Think of  grandchildren growing up.

The pitter-patter of little feet and romping  O so much

Learning to speak and the increase in words

Mispronunciation as life gives us curves

 

the memory of grandchildren, little people I see

how they entertain is well beyond me

seeing their future, a wedding down the road

challenges in life, may be a heavy load

 

Looking at my picture, when I was a lad

thinking of my grandparents and my mom and dad

My great grandmothers’, anchors of hope

Though their experiences we learn how to cope

From this photo of me, time moves so fast

sixty five years now, youth did not last

 

Covering a span from one generation to the next

The history in families is so perplex

change in technology, pictures say it all

The capture of memory may be our downfall

To dwell on the past like a rear view mirror

Family history is reason to hear

That vision ahead, a future to see

It is the past, keeps rolling back at me

 

The sounds of my grandchildren and my mother’s tears

emotion in memory we hold so dear

Leave a Reply

